Course of recognition (Original song)

This was the result of a little play of mind, starting from the spontaneous first line that somewhat rang a bell. I particularly liked the indefinite article in the first half line. The rest followed in one go. It´s sort of trafficking big ideas, or rather big questions, in small scenes of innocent helplessness.

I hope you enjoy it. Lyrics below.

Met a pope, we had a blast / Made some cookies out of grass

I asked him: Fella, do you believe? / He said: That´s relative, but maybe God believes in me.

Met a sinner who was just like me / We got along rather instanstly

I asked him: Mister, do you believe at all? / He said: That’s relative but it needs to be somebody’s fault

 

It´s all just a course of recognition / It´s all just simple definition

And whatever we say and whatever we do / The bottom line is that we don’t have a clue

 

Met a ghost, we had some fun / scared some school children into a run

I asked him: fella, do you believe in souls? / He said: that´s relative, I mean, existence as a whole

Met my spouse, we had a talk / Needed to share some of our thoughts

I asked her: baby, do you believe in love? / She said: that´s relative, my dear, but I believe in what we have

 

It’s all just a course of recognition / It´s all just simple definition

And whatever we say and whatever we do / The bottomline is that we don’t have a clue.

 

Met myself, had a go / At saving my poor little soul

I asked myself: do you believe in fate? / I said I believe that we’ll find out when it’s too late.

 

(c) Robin A. Mück, 2017

Leave a Reply

